NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the regular meetings of the Animal Welfare Committee of the Borough of Hightstown, County of Mercer, State of New Jersey, for the remainder of 2014 will be held on the third Thursday of each month, at 7:00 p.m., unless otherwise noted, at the International Roasting Post at 120 North Main Street, Hightstown.

 Debra L. Sopronyi
Borough Clerk

For more information about the Animal Welfare Committee, or to volunteer, please call Susan at 609-216-3149 or email

Donations can be sent to Borough of Hightstown, 148 North Main Street, Hightstown, NJ 08520. Please make check payable to “Borough of Hightstown,” with “Animal Welfare Committee” in notes area on your check.

The AWC is a non-profit committee sanctioned by the Borough of Hightstown.  In five years of operation, the AWC has:

  • implemented an on-going TNR program (Trap-Neuter-Return) program in Hightstown to address feral cats in our community;
  • expanded adoption services within the community – approximately half of the cats/kittens from our TNR program have been fostered and adopted out to good homes;
  • responded to calls from community residents for help with injured animals, saving the taxpayers of Hightstown thousands of dollars in Animal Control costs;
  • hosted educational outreach programs at town events throughout the year; and
  • provided education to local scouting groups and classrooms on the value of caring for animals and our TNR program.  


As of December 31, 2011, the AWC has trapped and neutered over 400 cats as part of its TNR program. Many of the cats and kittens have been adopted.

The committee consists of volunteers who do the trapping, fostering, feeding and maintenance of TNR colonies, as well as all fundraising to cover the associated costs for veterinary care and feeding.  Proceeds from the Paws Walk event go directly to supporting the TNR program, as well as responding to animal-related requests for assistance from the community.


Name Role
Susan Baxter
Ronnie Martella
Corresponding Secretary
Linda Walfish
Mellany Alio
Chair Pet Retention Subcommittee
Phyllis Deal, Linda Walfish
Co-Chairs Education Subcommittee
Ronnie Martella, Donna Hildreth Co-Chairs Volunteer Recruitment Subcommittee
Emily Gosnell
Dale Smatusek
Betty Vimbor
Kathy Patten
Carolyn Cummings
Robin Conrad
Catherine Tolmie
Kim Luke
Lisa Thibault